Fanaticus Forum  

Go Back   Fanaticus Forum > Rules > DBA 3.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2016, 04:31 AM
Pillager Pillager is offline
Prefect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 830
Default Flankers ARE in "close combat"

re:
http://fanaticus.boards.net/thread/3...&scrollTo=1772

>
You are in close combat only if you are fighting or providing rear support. Overlapping elements aren't counted in close combat... Phil never defined Flank Support this way... so Flank Support doesn't count.
"Start" of its bound is correct.

Joe Collins
>

Then BobB pointed out:
"It occurs when an element moves into, or remains in, both front edge and front corner-to-corner contact with an enemy element or at least partial front edge contact with a city, fort or camp. ''

''When an element is in close combat
both to front and to flank

or rear
or in close combat to its front and overlapped,
only it and the enemy element in front fight each other. Others only provide tactical factors.''

The point is that only 2 elements "fight each other" but several elements are deemed to be "in close combat."

Typical Barker confuse-ese.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2016, 12:32 PM
Bobgnar's Avatar
Bobgnar Bobgnar is offline
Propraetor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ann Arbor Michigan
Posts: 2,165
Default

Any elements that have front edge contact with each other are in close combat. Overlapper's are not considered in close combat neither are support elements.

In the Big battle situation where elements in close combat are to be considered, any element in front edge combat or flanking ( not overlapping) are included. This is rare that a situation would occur at the beginning of a bound in this configuration. It would mean a left over draw from the previous bound.
__________________
I am moving to new Forum. http://fanaticus.boards.net/forum
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2016, 01:59 PM
lkmjbc lkmjbc is offline
Praetor
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobgnar View Post
Any elements that have front edge contact with each other are in close combat. Overlapper's are not considered in close combat neither are support elements.

In the Big battle situation where elements in close combat are to be considered, any element in front edge combat or flanking ( not overlapping) are included. This is rare that a situation would occur at the beginning of a bound in this configuration. It would mean a left over draw from the previous bound.
I thought these boards shut down?

Joe Collins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2016, 12:57 AM
Richard Lee's Avatar
Richard Lee Richard Lee is offline
Primus Pilus
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Draganovo, Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lkmjbc View Post
I thought these boards shut down?

Joe Collins
Maybe not just yet.
__________________
Supporter of 2.2+
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2016, 04:39 PM
Bobgnar's Avatar
Bobgnar Bobgnar is offline
Propraetor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ann Arbor Michigan
Posts: 2,165
Default

Running down, but just not stopped yet/
__________________
I am moving to new Forum. http://fanaticus.boards.net/forum
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-2016, 08:34 PM
Pillager Pillager is offline
Prefect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 830
Default

AMAZING. The site is still operational -- I'm posting this on Nov 10, 2016.

You just need to enter the site by a backdoor; using the URL of an existing thread.

Then you can navigate to other places, and make a post...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.